2020-21 Yearbook Earns Top Honor from Northern Illinois Scholastic Press Association

2020-21 Yearbook Earns Top Honor from Northern Illinois Scholastic Press Association

South High School earned top honors from the 2022 Northern Illinois Scholastic Press Association (NISPA) Yearbook Contest.

DGS yearbook students received a Gold Certificate and Golden Eagle, NISPA’s highest honor, for their 2020-21 yearbook, “Out of the Blue.” Additionally, the yearbook won Blue Ribbon awards in the Theme, Coverage and Design categories and an Honorable Mention in the Writing and Photography categories.

“Despite a school year with less in-person activities than normal, our students created an outstanding publication to mark the history of our school and our world,” says Katherine O’Truk, DGS yearbook staff advisor. “I’m incredibly proud of our 2020-21 staff members for being recognized for their efforts at the state level.”

NISPA judges referred to the yearbook staff as “reporting stars” for their coverage and noted, “What the average person cannot see is how devoted your staff was to marking the history of this year.”

Congratulations to the members of the 2020-2021 yearbook staff: 
Class Members:

  • Katherine Arnold
  • Isabella Canale
  • Eleanor Cash
  • Jordan Copeland
  • Allison Coyne 
  • Melissa Duffek
  • Megan Fox
  • Abby Fredricks
  • Haley Fredricks
  • Kailey Furgeson
  • Julia Grippo
  • Gianna Marsico
  • Shirlene McJordan
  • Olivia Meyer
  • Sarah Nitti
  • Amanda Operana
  • Dianna Phifer, Editor in Chief
  • Grace Reichert
  • Johanna Rodeck
  • Milia Saei
  • Jordyn Spencer
  • Gabia Strokovas
  • Kendall Swider
  • Abigail Tannhauser
  • Lauren Thomas
  • Hailey Villafuerte
  • Lily Vincent

Club Members:

  • Anabella Chalada
  • Abigail Cholpek
  • Julia Frauendorff
  • Troy Graveen
  • Ensara Sejko

For more information, contact Katherine O’Truk at kotruk@csd99.org or visit the NISPA website.

Members of the 2020-2021 yearbook staff, who are also current staff members for the 2021-2022 yearbook, are pictured with the 2021 “Out of the Blue” yearbook. Pictured in order from left to right: Hailey Villafuerte, Anabella Chlada, Haley Fredricks, Johanna Rodeck, and Julia Frauendorff. The staff advisor is Katherine O’Truk, and the Editor in Chief of this book was Dianna Phifer, a DGS class of 2021 graduate.