D99 2021 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

D99 2021 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Eight District 99 students have received recognition in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP). The program recognizes high school seniors who have excelled in academics and have the potential to succeed in rigorous college studies.

The District 99 National Merit Semifinalists include:

  • Luc Alvarez, South High

  • Justin Berghorst, North High

  • Carissa Blumka, North High

  • Dyanna Boone, South High

  • Madeline Naisbitt, North High

  • Jacob Poeschel, South High

  • Christopher Sapinski, South High

  • Jonah Sprandel, South High

“We’re so proud of our students and this prestigious honor,” North High Principal Janice Schwarze said. “I know they work very hard and this recognition is a true testament to their academic accomplishments.”

“Congratulations to our students for earning national recognition,” South High Principal Ed Schwartz said. “We’re proud to share this news with our community.”

Approximately 1.5 million juniors in more than 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Our students will join approximately 16,000 seniors from across the country, representing the top one percent, and will compete for 7,600 NMSP scholarships totaling more than $30 million.

For more information about the National Merit Scholarship Program, please visit www.nationalmerit.org.