District 99 Student Musicians Earn All-State Honors from ILMEA

District 99 Student Musicians Earn All-State Honors from ILMEA

Twenty-five student musicians from District 99 have earned All-State honors through the Illinois Music Education Association (ILMEA). Students were selected to the All-State Band, All-State Chorus, All-State Orchestra, All-State Jazz Band, and as an All-State Composer. All-State musicians will travel to Peoria, Ill., from January 26-29, 2022 to participate in the Illinois Music Education Conference. 

Audition videos were submitted to the ILMEA, and adjudicated by a panel of professional musicians. The highest scoring musicians from across the State of Illinois have been tapped as All-State Musicians for 2021-22. 

“We are truly thrilled for these students and their families,” said North High Fine Arts Department Chair Brayer Teague. “Many people helped these students achieve this success, beginning with their very first elementary school music teachers and extending to their private-lessons teachers today. We are very proud to have these incredible musicians representing District 99 at the All-State level, and we are excited they are now recognized alongside the very best musicians in the State of Illinois.”

“To not only complete such a rigorous audition process, but to also be placed among the top musicians in the entire state of Illinois is a testament to the work, dedication, and sacrifice that these students have made,” said South High School Fine Arts Department Chair Jerry Lowrey.  "Everyone in District 99 is proud to have these wonderful students represent us at the Illinois Music Educators Conference in Peoria. Thank you all for your inspiration!"

Congratulations to the following District 99 student musicians who have earned ILMEA All-District Honors:


Bridget Callaghan (12) – Soprano II, North High

Maija Flannery (10) – Soprano I, South High

Jonathan Isoniemi (11) – Bass I, North High

Cora Lingenfelter (12) – Soprano I, North High

Kassem Ossman (12) – Tenor I, South High

Ryan Rosignal (12) – Tenor I, South High

Gwendolynne Royle (12) – Soprano II, South High

Ian Stagaman (12) – Bass I, North High


Stephen Cecil (11) – Viola, North High

Liudas Davies (11) – Violin, South High

Philip Okunev (12) – Violin, South High

Melissa Parkinson (12) – Double Bass, North High

Olivia Roti (12) – Viola, South High


Penny Ham (12) – Piccolo (Band), North High

Cameron Hejny (11) – Clarinet (Orchestra), North High

Zachery Heppner (12) – Clarinet (Orchestra), North High

Tabitha Irvin (11) – Bass Clarinet (Band), North High

Francesca Korbitz (12) – Flute (Band), North High

Kyra McComb (12) – Percussion (Orchestra), North High

Katherine Opila (12) – Trombone (Band), South High

Aarush Palli (10) – Flute (Band), North High

Ethan Weingust (10) – Bassoon (Orchestra), North High


Andrew Brandt (12) – Trombone, South High

James Clemens (12) – Bass Trombone, South High


Sophia Hamelka (10), North High 

The ILMEA Student Programs have been developed to encourage musical performance and creative expression and the many forms that may take for student musicians. Ensembles include symphonic orchestras, wind bands, choral ensembles, jazz bands and combos, and vocal jazz ensembles. The students named into these ensembles represent the best and brightest student musicians and the high-quality music education provided by music educators across Illinois.

To learn more about ILMEA, visit their website. For more information about North High Fine Arts contact Department Chair Brayer Teague at bteague@csd99.org and South High Fine Arts contact Department Chair Jerry Lowrey at jlowrey@csd99.org.