D99 Thespians Selected for 2020 All-State Musical Production

D99 Thespians Selected for 2020 All-State Musical Production

Five District 99 students and one staff member have been selected for the cast and crew for Illinois High School Theatre Festival's 2020 All-State Production of Aida. Production week will take place January 6-12, 2020, at Illinois State University.

Congratulations to the following Fine Arts students and staff!

  • North High student Renee Boone (Cast)

  • North High student Travon Moore (Cast)

  • South High student Michael Mrozek (Crew) 

  • North High student Matthew Spencer (Crew)

  • South High student Hazel Tan (Crew)

  • South High staff member Hunter Evans (Scenic Designer)

A list of the entire 2020 All-State Company may be found HERE. A synopsis of Aida, from the Illinois High School Theatre Festival, reads: Aida is a story about star-crossed lovers who met at the wrong time and place. As they pay the final price for their relationship, Radames reassures Aida that, “If I have to search for a hundred lifetimes, I will find you again…” Elton John and Tim Rice’s musical illustrates that if we “Still Believe”, the power of love can transcend all barriers.

Produced by the Illinois Theatre Association, the Illinois High School Theatre Festival (IHSTF) is the largest and oldest non-competitive high school theatre festival in the nation. The three-day Festival takes place every year in early January, and switches locations between the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Illinois State University. Over 4,000 students, teachers, university representatives, exhibitors, and volunteers come together to put on over 25 different high school productions and over 150 workshops. Other highlights include college/university auditions for high school seniors, professional development for teachers and the All-State Production, featuring student cast, crew, and orchestra members from across the state. For more information about the IHSTF, visit their website.

For more information about North High Fine Arts, contact Brayer Teague, North High Fine Arts Department Chair, at bteague@csd99.org or visit North High Fine Arts Blogsite.

For more information about South High Fine Arts, contact Glenn Williams, South High Fine Arts Department Chair at gwilliams@csd99.org or visit South High Fine Arts Blogsite.