

District 99 Board of Education Recognition of South High Student and Staff Achievements March 21, 2016

All-State Boy Tennis - Spring 2015

Lawrence Hiquiana – All-State Doubles Anthony Leto – All-State Singles Christian SanAndres – All-State Singles Zachary Wood – All-State Doubles Pete Freischlag – Coach

Baseball State - Spring 2015

Daniel Oriente – All-State Darren Orel – Coach

Girls Soccer State - Spring 2015

Ava Porlier – All-State Chris Hernandez – Coach

Girls Track State - Spring 2015

Michaela Hackbarth – State Champion-800 M Run Doug Plunkett – Coach Egle Staisiunaite – Coach

Boys Track State - Spring 2015

Nickolas Kersting – 6th Place-110 M Hurdles *Dustin Hausherr* – Coach

Softball State - Spring 2015

Payton Buresch – Third Team All-State Caroline Hedgcock – First Team-All-State Kristin Lea – First Team All-State Megan LoBianco – Second Team All-State Ron Havelka – Coach

2016 National German Exam

Ian Bales – Level 2-Achievement
Gina DeCarlis – Level 2-Achievement
Sierra Kramarczyk – Level 2-Achievement
Nolan Orth – Level 2-Gold
Maximilian Schmidt-Bailey – Level 2-Gold
Brian Williams – Level 2-Gold
Sarah Mueller – Level 3-Gold
Sonja Renowden – Level 3-Bronze
Gerda Zasytyte – Level 3-Gold
Kevin Fera – Level 4-Achievement
Jonathan Meyers – Level 4-Gold
Kevin Mommsen – Level 4-Achievement
Brandon Thom – Level 4-Achievement
Patricia Gronlund – German Teacher
Sarah Moreno – German Teacher

2016 Illinois Music Education Association All-State Festival

Juliana Arhontas - All-State Honors Choir Nicolette Cheaure – All-State Orchestra Alana Copeland - All-State Choir Gabrielle Henderson – Vocal Jazz, 2nd Place Brianna Imgruet - Jazz Band Kristyn Krajewski - All-State Orchestra Sean McCarthy - All-State Honors Choir Patrick Mitchell - All-State Honors Choir Bridget Moroney - All-State Honors Band Kristina Mucha - All-State Honors Band Daniel Piccoli - Jazz Band Julia Poska - All-State Honors Band Jeremy Ursache – All-State Honors Choir Joy Belt-Roselieb - Choral Director Laura Coster - Choral Director Greg Hensel – Band Director Jennifer Mullen - Orchestra Director Craig Roselieb - Band Director Glenn Williams - Band Director

Kettle Moraine Press Association

Grace DeCarlo – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"
Evalina Dygdon – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"
Kailey Holtzmann – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope" - Cover
Charlena Malloy – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"
Michelle Mo – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"
Tiffany Nguyen – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"-Divider Art
Akila Shanmugham – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"
Emma Sprandel – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"
Lucas Szpytek – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"
Genesis Thomas – ALL-KEMPA Award "Calliope"
Zachary Kuhn – Calliope Sponsor
Michelle Lynn – Calliope Sponsor
Jenneine Rowley – Calliope Sponsor

2016 Scholastic Art Awards

Lauren Ackermann – Silver Key Award-Photography

Allison Adams - Silver Key Award-Painting Sydney Antiporek – Gold Key Award-Photography Nicole Augustyn - Gold Key Award-Ceramics and Glass Emmanuelle Copeland - Gold Key Award-Painting Annemarie Elser - Silver Key Award-Photography Michelle Harris - Gold Key Award-Design Stephanie Huerta - Silver Key Award-Ceramics and Glass Kevin Kirkolis - Gold Key Award-Ceramics and Glass Kristyn Krajewski - Gold Key Award-Drawing and Illustration - Silver Key Award-Mixed Media Honorable Mention-Mixed Media Bailee Krucek - Silver Key Award-Ceramics and Glass Alessandra Lane - Gold Key Award-Art Portfolio, Digital Art & Photography - Silver Key Award-Digital Art Honorable Mention-Digital Art & Photography Julia Lucadello - Gold Key Award-Ceramics and Glass Gabriele Macenis - Silver Key Award-Drawing and Illustration Analy Martinez - Silver Key Award-Photography Paige Massey - Silver Key Award-Photography Juliette Moushon - Gold Key Award-Art Portfolio & Photography - Silver Key Award-Digital Art Jhenevie Oca - Gold Key Award-Digital Art & Photography - Silver Key Award-Photography - Honorable Mention-Photography

Claire Pikul – Gold Key Award-Digital Art & Photography - Silver Key Award-Photography & Digital Art – Honorable Mention-Digital Art & Photography

Jasmine Samuels – Gold Key Award-Ceramics and Glass Gabrielle Senne – Gold Key Award-Ceramics and Glass

Sabrielle Serifie – Gold Key Award-Ceramics and Glass Stanley Smid – Silver Key Award-Ceramics and Glass

Katie Turyna – Gold Key Award-Art Portfolio & Digital Art – Silver Key Award-Digital Art

Honorable Mention-Digital Art & Photography
 Lindsay Valero – Silver Key Award-Digital Art

Robyn Bican – Instructor Michelle Lynn – Instructor Kathy Myles – Instructor Molly O'Brien-Prusa – Instructor Katherine O'Truk – Instructor

2015 National Forensic League

Vanessa Copeland – Octofinalist in Dramatic Interpretation
Julia Couillard – Semi-Finalist in United States Extemp & Impromptu Speaking
Zach Kennedy – Semi-Finalist in Expository Speaking
Reese Richardson – Semi-Finalist in Storytelling
Hunter Staszak-Donnel - Semi-Finalist in Commentary Speaking
Jan Heiteen – Coach
Elighie Wilson – Coach
Justin Matkovich – Coach

2016 Illinois Prostart Student Invitational

Katrina Woltman – 3rd Place in State ProStart Kyle Neuner – TCD Instructor/Team Coach

2016 IHSA State Speech

Faith Barr – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Beatrice Beirne – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Vanessa Copeland – 4th Place in Radio Speaking

Jacob Cowart – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Leah Crandell – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Mariam Mackar – 5th Place in Humorous Duet Acting

Kevin Mommsen – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Samantha Ruiz – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Blake Schafer – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Stephanie Stewart – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Hamdan Suhail - 5th Place in Humorous Duet Acting - 5th Place in Original Comedy Peter Szpytek – State Runner Up in Dramatic Duet Acting

Grace Ulch – 4th Place in Poetry Reading – State Runner Up in Dramatic Duet Acting Lydia Walsh-Rock – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Timothy Werner – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round Mitch Wisniewski – Speech Team-6th Place in State – 6th Place in Performance in the Round

Chris Blum – Coach Harry Bodell – Coach Ryan Breig – Coach Claire Drews – Coach Josh Durham – Coach Autumn Geist – Coach Jan Heiteen – Coach

"Outstanding Photographic Educator of the Year"

Justin Matkovich - Coach

Michelle Lynn

Boys Swimming

Samuel Dumford – 3rd Place-50 Free – 11th Place-100 Free Paul Krick – Coach Bryan Szweda – Coach

Boys Wrestling State

Tyree Johnson – 4th Place Zachary Muller – 6th Place Sean Lovelace – Coach

Girls Gymnastics State

Kayla Carlson – 8th Place Overall Abigail Carlson – 8th Place Overall Andrea Davenport – 8th Place Overall Emily Tom – 8th Place Overall Lindsay Tom – 8th Place Overall Paige Vondrasek – 8th Place Overall *Kristyn Campos – Coach*

IHSA Boys Cross Country

Jack LaLonde – All-State Honors – Set new DGS Record Brian Caldwell – Head Coach

IHSA Girls Swimming

Aimee Dragas – State Champion in 200 M Freestyle – State Champion in 50 M Freestyle – State Champion in 100 M Freestyle – State Champion/State Record in 100 M Breast Stroke Paul Krick – Head Coach