

# District 99 Board of Education Recognition of North High Student and Staff Achievements March 21, 2016

# 2014-2015 IHSA State Track and Field

Kaitlyn Bonfield – 4<sup>th</sup> Place-4 x 800 Meter Relay
Ryan Clevenger – 4<sup>th</sup> Place-1600 Meter Run
Jaida Green – 3<sup>rd</sup> Place-High Jump
Zayna Jan – 4<sup>th</sup> Place-4 x 800 Meter Relay
Isabel Maletich – 5<sup>th</sup> Place-Triple Jump
Emma Moravec – 4<sup>th</sup> Place-4 x 800 Meter Relay – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place-800 Meter Run
Rachel Schuetz – 4<sup>th</sup> Place-4 x 800 Meter Relay

Eric Buhot – Head Coach
Matthew Maletich – Head Coach

## 2015-2016 National German Exam

Jennifer Casey - Level 2-Bronze Daniel Igoe - Level 2-Bronze Kaylee McCarthy - Level 2-Silver Jason Meier – Level 2-Bronze Mantas Motekaitis - Level 2-Bronze Theodore Schneider - Level 2-Bronze Troy McDonald-Shumaker - Level 2-Gold Patrycja Suliba – Level 2-Bronze Thomas Sykora - Level 2-Silver Ali Anwar - Level 3-Bronze Mary Fleming – Level 3-Silver Jonathan Jeske - Level 3-Bronze Lucas Sheppard - Level 3-Silver Benjamin Cortez - Level 4-Bronze Elizabeth Jensen – Level 4-Bronze Sarah Martinez – Level 4-Silver Aubrey Saha – Level 4-Silver Grant Steele - Level 4-Gold Gunde Burritt - Sponsoring Mentor Anne Herrmann – Sponsoring Mentor

#### 2015-2016 IHSA State Speech

Ayesha Ahmad – 7<sup>th</sup> Place-Oratorical Declamation

Hannah Thompson – 1<sup>st</sup> Place-Radio Speaking – 3rd Place-Original Oratory *Melissa Carlson* – *Head Coach* 

### 2016 Illinois Restaurant Association

Elizabeth Chanhnourack – 3rd Place-ProStart Student Management Team

## 2016 Scholastic Writing Awards

Sarah Patrick – 4 Silver Key Awards & 4 Honorable Mention Awards-Scholastic Poetry Writing Anne Toner – 2 Silver Key Awards & 3 Honorable Mention Awards-Scholastic Poetry Writing - Honorable Mention Award-Flash Fiction

Emma Wilson - Gold Key Award-Scholastic Poetry Writing

- 4 Silver Key Awards & 3 Honorable Mention Awards-Scholastic Poetry Writing/Flash Fiction

Chris McGrath - Sponsoring Mentor Elaine Simos – Sponsoring Mentor John Waite - Sponsoring Mentor

# 2016 Scholastic Art Awards

Emma Bochar - Gold Key Award-Digital Art - Silver Key Award-Digital Art Ching Chan – Gold Key Award-Jewelry

Natalie Costello - Gold Key Award-Ceramics & Glass - Silver Key Award-Ceramics & Glass Kellie Flavin - Silver Key Award-Ceramics & Glass

Benjamin Gartlan - Gold Key Award-Drawing & Illustration - Silver Key Award-Printmaking Briana Gastaldello - Silver Key Award-Photography - Honorable Mention Award-Photography

Andra Jankauskaite – 3 Gold Key Awards-Photography/Art Portfolio – 2 Silver Key Awards-Photography

Honorable Mention Award-Photography

Natasha Jung – Silver Key Award-Ceramics & Glass

Shannon Koegel - Silver Key Award-Ceramics & Glass

Elizabeth Langan – Silver Key Award-Drawing & Illustration – Honorable Mention Award-Drawing & Illustration Carly Miller - Silver Key Award-Ceramics & Glass

Brett Mills - Gold Key Award-Ceramics & Glass

Kayelee Newstrom - Gold Key Award-Drawing & Illustration - Honorable Mention Award-Drawing & Illustration

Alexis Nix - Gold Key Award-Mixed Media - Silver Key Award-Mixed Media

Jessica Novotny – 5 Gold Key Awards-Photography – 2 Silver Key Awards-Photography

Silver Kev Award-Art Portfolio

Sarah Patrick – 2 Gold Key Awards-Photography – Silver Key Award-Photography

- 3 Honorable Mention Awards-Photography

Liam Perez – 2 Gold Key Awards-Digital Art/Drawing & Illustration – Silver Key Award-Drawing & Illustration - Honorable Mention Award-Art Portfolio

Lauren Porcelli - Gold Key Award-Ceramics & Glass - Silver Key Award-Jewelry

- Honorable Mention Award-Ceramics

Aubrey Saha – American Vision Award-Drawing & Illustration – 6 Gold Key Awards-Drawing & Illustration 4 Silver Key Awards-Drawing & Illustration
 4 Honorable Mention Awards-Drawing & Illustration/Art Portfolio

Rachael Salman – Gold Key Award-Photography

Ari Scott - Silver Key Award-Drawing & Illustration

Tony Sherifi – Gold Key Award-Photography

Audrey Staron – Silver Key Award-Drawing & Illustration

Makenna Tallon - Silver Key Award-Ceramics & Glass

Kathryn Vaden - Gold Key Award-Jewelry

Sofia Wehrle - Gold Key Award-Painting - Silver Key Award-Painting

Katherine Whiteman - Silver Key Award-Digital Art

Emma Wilson - Gold Key Award-Digital Art

Olivia Wojciak - Gold Key Award-Ceramics & Glass

Angela Wong - Gold Key Award-Ceramics & Glass

Amber Wood – Gold Key Award-Design

Amy Bernard - Sponsoring Mentor

Megan Kelly – Sponsoring Mentor

Leslie Miller – Sponsoring Mentor

Marty Voelker - Sponsoring Mentor

#### **Illinois Art Education Association**

Marty Voelker – 2015 Secondary Art Educator of the Year

## **Illinois Music Education Association 2016**

David Atwater - All-State Band Jack Barkei – All-State Honors Orchestra Lauren Birkmeier – Future Music Educators Symposium Alyse Bondarowicz - All-State Honors Band Keara Corbett - All-State Choir Maria D'Ambrose – All-State Honors Orchestra Tim Edwards - All-State Honors Orchestra Sarah Fantinel – All-State Band Robert Gartlan - All-State Honors Choir Todd Griffin - All-State Band Megan Hung – All-State Honors Orchestra Liam Morgan - All-State Honors Orchestra Jeremy Pike – 1<sup>st</sup> Place Music Arranging Grace Reberg - All-State Choir Caleb Schmurr - All-State Honors Band Ari Scott - All-State Honors Orchestra Sharon Stagaman - All-State Honors Choir William Miller - Sponsoring Mentor Jennifer Mullen – Sponsoring Mentor Elizabeth O'Riordan - Sponsoring Mentor Frank Piekarz – Sponsoring Mentor Brayer Teague - Sponsoring Mentor

# **Recording Academy and GRAMMY Foundation**

Brayer Teague – 2016 Music Educator Award Finalist

#### Illinois Drill Team Association 2016

Kemya Davis – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Team-Imani Steppers Addison DuPont – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Team-Imani Steppers Melanie Dziabula – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Team-Imani Steppers Kenise Gaston – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Team-Imani Steppers Leah Lindenberger – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Team-Imani Steppers Julia Pecaro – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Team-Imani Steppers Maya Schumpert – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Team-Imani Steppers Leanne Rink – Sponsoring Mentor-Imani Steppers

### 2015-2016 IHSA State Swimming & Diving

Elizabeth Aument – 9<sup>th</sup> Place-1 Meter Diving Emily Aument – 6<sup>th</sup> Place-1 Meter Diving Ryan Murphy – 8<sup>th</sup> Place-1 Meter Diving Kevin Sullivan – 7<sup>th</sup> Place-1 Meter Diving Anthony Ciezadlo – Head Coach