DGN Student Musicians Earn ILMEA All-State Honors

DGN Student Musicians Earn ILMEA All-State Honors

North High ILMEA All-State Musicians: Row 1 (L-R): Rebecca Edmundson, Catherine Ramsey, Paige Sadler; Row 2 (L-R): Brady Moore, Kyra McComb, Cora Lingenfelter, MacKenzie McGuire, Jesse Wei, Melissa Parkinson; Row 3 (L-R): Emilija Irvin, Delaney Durbin, Jaclyn Duellman, Renee Boone, Owen Nystrom, Justin Berghorst; Row 4 (L-R): Justin Koblich, Miles Teague, Benjamin Hodonicky, William Berberich

Nineteen North High student musicians have earned All-State honors through the Illinois Music Education Association (ILMEA). Students were selected to the All-State Band, All-State Choir, All-State Jazz Band, All-State Jazz Choir, All-State Orchestra and recognized in the All-State Music Composition Contest. 

All-State musicians will travel to Peoria, IL, from January 29 - February 1, 2020 to participate in the Illinois Music Education Conference (IMEC). Their concerts will be held at the Peoria Civic Center on the afternoon of February 1.

“We are truly thrilled for these students and their families,” said Brayer Teague, Fine Arts Department Chair at North High. “Many people helped these students achieve this success, beginning with their very first elementary school music teachers and extending to their private-lessons teachers today. We are very proud to have these incredible musicians representing District 99 at the All-State level, and we are excited they will now perform alongside the very best musicians in the State of Illinois.”

Renee Boone (11) – Alto II
Jaclyn Duellman (11) – Alto I
Delaney Durbin (11) – Soprano II
Cora Lingenfelter (10) – Soprano II

William Berberich (12) – Commercial Popular (2nd Place)

Benjamin Hodonicky (12) - Guitar
MacKenzie McGuire (11) – Soprano

Justin Berghorst (11) - Violin
Rebecca Edmundson (12) - Violin
Brady Moore (12) – Cello
Melissa Parkinson (10) – Double Bass
Catherine Ramsey (12) – Harp
Paige Sadler (11) – Violin
Jesse Wei (11) – Viola

Emilija Irvin (12) – Bassoon (Band)
Justin Koblich (12)  - Percussion (Orchestra)
Kyra McComb (10) – Percussion (Band)
Owen Nystrom (11) – Bassoon (Band)
Miles Teague (12) - Horn (Orchestra) 

To learn more about ILMEA, visit their website.