

# District 99 Board of Education Recognition of South High Student and Staff Achievements May 9, 2016

## Top 2% - Class of 2016

Jonathan Alvarez Jack LaLonde Megan Luckett Jonathon Meyers Maxililian O'Meara Swathi Pillalamarri Julia Poska Zachary Scheffel Akila Shanmugham Joseph Shen Yvonne Szustakiewicz James Weiss Cara Wydra

## 2016 Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA) Top 10 State Finalists

Marc Alvarez – Marketing Management Pratyaksh Budhiraja – International Business Plane Shana Johnson – Hospitality and Tourism Professional Selling & Public Relations Project Kenneth Kruse – Entrepreneurship Innovation Plan Tiffany Leung – Retail Merchandising Marissa Repole – Hospitality & Tourism Professional Selling Natalie Repole – Principles of Hospitality and Tourism Ronnie Thottaplackal – International Business Plane *Pat Fardy* – Sponsor *Paul Krick* – Sponsor *Ruth White* – Sponsor

## 2016 Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA) State Finalists & National Qualifiers

Laura Funk – 1<sup>st</sup> Place in Advertising Campaign & 1<sup>st</sup> Place in Quick Serve Restaurant Management Tiffany Leung – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place in Entrepreneurship Innovation Plan Matthew Mahlan – 1<sup>st</sup> Place in Advertising Campaign Swathi Pillalamarri – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place in Financial Services Team Decision Michael Roberge – 1<sup>st</sup> Place in Advertising Campaign Akila Shanmugham – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place in Financial Services Team Decision Chandana Sooranahalli – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place in Financial Consulting *Pat Fardy* – *Sponsor Paul Krick* – *Sponsor Ruth White* – *Sponsor* 

#### 2016 Family Careers, Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) State Medalists

Joshua Abarca-Munoz – Culinary Relish Tray - Gold Medal - Most Outstanding Nana Asamoah – Personal Career Image - Gold Medal Fatima Khan – International Experience - Silver Medal Tanvir Siddiqui – International Experience - Silver Medal Saba Siddiqui – International Experience - Silver Medal *Cindy Farren – Sponsor* Brooke Parpet – Sponsor

#### **SkillsUSA State Finalists**

Marcelo Avila – Architectual CAD Drawing - 5th Place Allison Adams – Architectural CAD Drawing - 7th Place Jonathan Guttello - Architectural CAD Drawing - State Champion Bradley Miskus – 3D Visualization & Animation - 5th Place Goda Narakaite – Architectural CAD Drawing – 4<sup>th</sup> Place (Tie) Russell Pluhar - 3D Visualization & Animation - 8th Place Christopher Pry – Architectural CAD Drawing - 3rd Place Emily Pulido – 3D Visualization & Animation – 3rd Place and Architectural CAD Drawing - 4th Place (Tie) William Richert - 3D Visualization & Animation - 3rd Place Jon Urgello – Mobile Robotics - State Champion Matthew Wiechec - Mobile Robotics - State Champion Ethan Witt – Architectural CAD Drawing - 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Emily Zaprianov – Architectural CAD Drawing - 10th Place Mark Molinari – SkillsUSA Sponsor Jeff Schram – SkillsUSA Sponsor Mark Mueller - Robotics Sponsor Val Moses – Robotics Sponsor

## 2016 Illinois Drafting Educators Association State Finalists

Jonathan Guttello – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Joshua Lilly – 10<sup>th</sup> Place

#### 2016 National Scholastic Art

Alessandra Lane – Silver Medal for her piece **Hidden** Claire Pikul – Gold Medal for her piece **Struck** & Gold Medal for her piece **Paper Chase** *Michelle Lynn – Teacher* 

#### IHSA State Journalism – 6th Place Overall

Theresa Brown – 3<sup>rd</sup> Place in Yearbook Caption Writing Wesley Davenport Michelle Hroma Hannah Maes Claire Pikul – 1<sup>st</sup> Place in Photo Story Telling Joseph Stellato, Jr. Asma Zaman – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place in News Writing *Kari Alore – Sponsor* Mark Indreika – Sponsor Mary Long – Sponsor

#### **Northern Illinois School Press Association**

Gabrielle Bartkeviciute – Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Theresa Brown – Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Jared Burrow – Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Michaela Burton - Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Marcela Calderon - Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Grace Chaplin - Honorable Mention - Editorial Writing & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Kyle Chisholm - Honorable Mention - Graphics Wesley Davenport - Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Multimedia Package & Honorable Mention - Web Video & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Gina DeCarlis - Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Kristen Gard - Honorable Mention - Editorial Writing, Graphics & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Michelle Hroma – Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Hannah Maes - Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Web Breaking News & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Jack McGann – Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Autumn McSwain – Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Clarissa Moreno - Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Photo Gallery & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Rupa Palla - Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Multimedia Package & Honorable Mention - Web Video & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Unna Perez Fernandez - Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Patrick Reeg - Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Multimedia Package, Blog & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Joseph Stellato, Jr. - Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Multimedia Package, Photography & Honorable Mention - Sports Writing, in Depth & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Eileen Tyrrell – Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Multimedia Package & Honorable Mention - Web Video, Feature Writing & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Asma Zaman – Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate AlanZhou – Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Multimedia Package & Honorable Mention - Web Video & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Kari Alore – Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Sponsor & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Sponsor Mark Indreika – Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Sponsor & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Sponsor Mary Long - Blueprint - Blue Ribbon - Sponsor & Website (Division 1) - Silver Certificate Sponsor

#### National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)

Grace DeCarlo – Excellent Rating in Literary Magazines Evalina Dygdon – Excellent Rating in Literary Magazines Charlena Malloy – Excellent Rating in Literary Magazines Akila Shanmugham – Excellent Rating in Literary Magazines Zach Kuhn – Calliope Sponsor Michelle Lynn – Calliope Sponsor Jenneine Rowley – Calliope Sponsor

#### National Forensic League's Illini District National Qualifiers

Vanessa Copeland Joshua Hernandez Rikaya Johnson Brianna Leys Mariam Mackar Harris Salim Hibba Salim Vishal Sorakayala Hunter Staszak-Donnel Hamdan Suhail Peter Szpytek Grace Ulch Jessica Windischman Jan Heiteen – Coach Justin Matkovich – Coach Elighie Wilson – Coach

#### **Special Olympics Basketball**

Jeremiah Boatright Isabella Coloka Michael Folsom Phillip Gonzales Brendon Harrison Sigmond Markowski Antonio Murphy Alexander Newell Malik Nicholson Angelique Olcese Alexa Vitagliano

## Unified Champion School – Project UNIFY

Jeremiah Boatright Katherine Clark **Esther Crandell** Antoinette Gadzala Philip Gonzales Steven Jordan Jonathan Juarez Kenneth Kruse Andrea Lopez Alexander Newell Philip Pakowski Nicholas Rohl Alexa Vitagliano Sage Westbrook Kevin Ahrens – Sponsor Kristina Conrad – Sponsor Michael Folsom – Sponsor Brett Wolf – Sponsor