

District 99 Board of Education Recognition of North High Student and Staff Achievements May 9, 2016

Top 2% - Class of 2016

Ayesha Ahmad
Sophie Baillargeon
Angela Budach
Benjamin Cortez
Alison Elgass
Megan Geraghty
Liam Morgan
Aubrey Sieve
Hannah Thompson
Emily Wilson

2016 State Career Development Conference

Jack Drobny – 4th Place - Sports Marketing Ellis Johnson – 4th Place - Sports Marketing Nika Kosirati – 2nd Place - Accounting Applications Charles McGuire – 1st Place - Accounting Applications Nicholas Torres – 3rd Place - Accounting Applications Larry Baca – Sponsoring Mentor

2016 FCCLA State Conference

Yosmely Aguilar – Silver Medal - International Experience Alice Bieda – Silver Medal - Pastry Arts Frosted Cookies Kylie Daly – Silver Medal - Fashion Apparel Display Leslie Elena - Gold Medal - Pastry Arts Frosted Cakes Jade Gandhi - Gold Medal/Most Outstanding - Fashion Apparel Display Alexa Johnson - Gold Medal - Fashion Taylor Kozarits - Gold Medal/Most Outstanding - Fashion Apparel Display Jillian Krejci - Bronze Medal - Fashion Construction Elena Mendez - Gold Medal - Professional Career Image Kailey Nelson - Silver Medal - Pastry Arts Frosted Cakes Priscilla Perez – Silver Medal - Fashion Apparel Display Claire Rowley - Gold Medal - Fashion Brooke Stocki - Silver Medal/Most Outstanding - Freshman Fashion Apparel Display Abigail Testin – Gold Medal / Most Outstanding - Fondant Cakes Anne Toner – Bronze Medal - International Experience Katelyn Kordecki - Sponsoring Mentor Christy Tajak - Sponsoring Mentor

2016 SkillsUSA State Conference

Zachary Busch – 7th Place - Engineering Technology
Jacob Drobnik – 7th Place - Engineering Technology
Kathleen Halloran – 7th Place - Engineering Technology
Pradeep Senthil – 1st Place - Computer Programming
Mohammed Zaiduddin – 7th Place - Computer Programming
Katelyn Kordecki – Sponsoring Mentor
Christy Tajak – Sponsoring Mentor

Scholastic Art & Writing Awards 2016

Jessica Novotny – National Silver Medal - Photography
Aubrey Saha – National Gold Medal - Illustration
Emma Wilson – National Silver Medal - Poetry
Olivia Wojciak – National Silver Medal - Ceramics & Glass
Angela Wong – National Silver Medal - Ceramics & Glass
Megan Kelly – Sponsoring Mentor
Leslie Miller – Sponsoring Mentor
Marty Voelker – Sponsoring Mentor
John Waite – Sponsoring Mentor

2016 IHSA State Journalism Finals

Kileen Dietrich – 4th Place - Sports Writing Abigail Murphy – 3rd Place - Newspaper Design & 2016 All-State Journalism Team Elizabeth Levin – Sponsoring Mentor Kathy Smith – Sponsoring Mentor

2016 Northern Illinois Scholastic Press Association

Jasmine Abdallah – Blue Ribbon - Individual In-Depth
Kathleen Callaghan – Honorable Mention - Features Writing / Graphics
Madison Chudzik – Honorable Mention - Newspaper Photography
Kileen Dietrich – Blue Ribbon - Editorials
Ryan Martin – Blue Ribbon - Editorial Cartooning
Raemon Meents – Blue Ribbon - Photography/Theme Development/Coverage & Silver Certificate - Yearbook
Abigail Murphy – Blue Ribbon - Columns
Natalie White – Honorable Mention - Sports Writing
Julia Zita – Blue Ribbon - Photography/Theme Development/Coverage & Silver Certificate - Yearbook

2016 National Scholastic Press Association

Kathleen Callaghan – Pacemaker Award & Honorable Mention - Feature Writing
Wyatt Effrein – Honorable Mention - Sports Writing
Abigail Murphy – Pacemaker Award
Julia Zita – Superior - News Writing

2016 Illinois Journalism Education Association Newspaper Contest

Jasmine Abdallah – 1st Place - In-Depth News Story
Madison Chudzik – 2nd Place - News or Feature Photography
Kileen Dietrich – 1st Place - Staff Editorial
Wyatt Effrein – 1st Place - Sports Commentary & 3rd Place - Sports News Story
Abigail Murphy – 3rd Place - Personality Profile/Serious Commentary
Fletcher Peters – Honorable Mention - Feature Story
Natalie White – 2nd Place - Sports Feature Story & 2nd Place - Sports News Story

2016 Quill & Scroll International Writing & Photography Contest

Kileen Dietrich – National Winner - Editorial Writing Olivia Morrow – National Winner - Infographics Elizabeth Levin – Sponsoring Mentor

2015 Abraham Lincoln High School Book Award

Shannon Huang
Hannah Marron
Lauren Phegley
Stephanie DeVincentis – Sponsoring Mentor
Aimee Uy – Sponsoring Mentor

2016 Special Olympics State Basketball

Bradley Brennan – 2nd Place Team Giovanni Jimenez – 2nd Place Team Mary Prades – 2nd Place Team Arthur Drenth – Head Coach Michele Geraghty – Sponsoring Mentor Kimberly Jaros – Sponsoring Mentor

Golden Apple Scholar of Illinois - Class of 2016

Nate Doro Bridget Foreman

Golden Apple Foundation

Jeff Grant – 2016 Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching