Three DGN Students Earn Gold on National Spanish Exam; Over 100 Attain Recognition

Three DGN Students Earn Gold on National Spanish Exam; Over 100 Attain Recognition

Three students from Downers Grove North High School received a gold medal on the 2017 National Spanish Exam, including Miles Christensen, Mary Bonanno and Maxwell Krause. Krause scored in the 99th Percentile of all the Level 4 Classroom Experience students taking the National Spanish exam this year, earning a rank of 13th overall among the many hundreds of students in that category. He will be recognized at a special ceremony hosted by the Chicagoland Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP).

Sponsored by AATSP, the National Spanish Examination is a contest to recognize student achievement in the study of Spanish and to stimulate further interest in studying the language.  Teachers who are members of the AATSP invite their students to participate.

“Taking this exam is truly going above and beyond in studying Spanish, and we are proud of these students for stretching themselves to learn more,” says Jennifer Mariman, Spanish teacher at Downers Grove North.

In addition to the gold medals, 17 students earned a silver and 16 students earned a bronze medal;  66 earned honorable mention. 

“Attaining a medal or honorable mention for any student on the National Spanish Examinations is very prestigious,” said Kevin Cessna-Buscemi, National Director of the Exams. “The exams are the largest of their kind in the United States with over 157,000 students participating in 2017.”

Students were taught by Spanish teachers Joshua Bodenheimer, Ruth Dukala, Paula Fernandez, Lynn Hamilton, Jennifer Mariman, and Jeanne Seyller.  

The National Spanish Examinations are administered each year in grades 6 through 12, and are sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP).

Gold Winners

Mary Bonanno, Miles Christensen, Maxwell Krause

Silver Winners  

Desiree Garcia, Carrie Gorman, Bryn Heuberger, Katelyn Howe, Abigail Johanek, Lily Kraus, Emma Krause, John Langan, Victoria Levin, Brendan Lockerby, Joseph Martens, Julia McGuire, Brendan Quealy, Jordan Richmond, Cassidy Steel, Charles Tenorio, and Hayley Wagreich.

Bronze Winners

Susannah Browning, Hunter Campbell, Rebecca Edmundson, Braden Moore, Kailey Nelson, Olvia  Orizaba, Jose  Pacheco, Alexa Park, Monika Rainyte, Lauren Schenk, Rohan Sethi, Andy Thompson, James Vranas, Angela Wong, John Zarnowski, and Nathan Zyck.

Honorable Mentions

Jozelle Arenz, Kayla Asonye, Teagan Bakker, Josie Bondarowicz, Nathan Boris, Cynthia Brennan, Katie Cantlin, Jack Casey, Nick Chudzik, Kaitlin  Connolly, Mia  Dhillon, Colin Doyle, Will Fulton, Eric Gomez, Patrick Harmon, Sarah Heinz, Samantha Hicks, Kaitlyn Hill, Riley Hornilla, Annamarie Hyer, Diana Ibarra, Anna James, Sofia Jimenez, Roseanna Jurasas, Charlotte Klasing, Aaron Klonowski, Akhil Kodumuri, Anna Kombrink, Amelia Korbitz, Georgia Kowal, Katie Kramnic, Julia Kramper, Sophia LaBianco, Aidan Lafferty, Margaret Langland, Lauren Lucina, Margaret Lyons, Melissa Manzo, Aaron Marszewski, Logan McGrath, Nicholas Miller, Hafsa Mirza, Amber Moca, Malikah Muzammil, Andrea Ohk, Kyle Pearson, Allison Pustelnik, Rahul Rajput, Carrigan Reynolds, Jade Roberts, Kevin Sachtleben, David Schmurr, Simone Schuller, Mia Scott, Jaye Sevcik, Hitika Shah, Payton Sirota, Molly Smith, Abigail Sobczak, Clare Southworth, Rachel Sprague, Grace Stevenson, Dan Testin, Grant Theisen, Katie Velazquez and Brooke Walsh.